While I’m Taking a Pause in Dissertating.

Years ago I wrote some settings of fragments from various poems by Edgar Allan Poe. As anyone who’s known me for more than ten minutes is likely aware, my favorite authors are Lovecraft and Poe. I read Poe for the first time in first grade, in an illustrated edition of The Murders in the Rue Morgue, and I haven’t been right since. So, naturally, I beat it into my younger brother as well. He sang these on my senior comp recital at YSU in their original versions, the recording of which was misplaced by the person who ran the machine. Shortly thereafter, the disc the piece was saved on (this was back when discs were allegedly “floppy” and held about 4kb) became “corrupted” and would no longer open. I thought the piece was irrepairably lost until Philip gave me his rehearsal copy of the score, allowing the rewrite I am in the midst of when not writing the dissertation.

Here’s two of the three movements from …while the angels, for tenor and piano. The third, a setting of the final lines of Annabel Lee, will be up soon.

from The Conqueror Worm

from Bridal Ballad

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

